Ms Elizabeth Carr

Ms Elizabeth Carr AM (Chair)

Elizabeth is an Old Girl of the school (’81). Her skills incorporate both the private and public sectors having worked for IBM, Macquarie Group, and Department of State Development WA. She has undertaken a Masters degree at Harvard University, specialising in issues of governance, accountability and strategic policy. Elizabeth chairs The South Metropolitan Tafe (WA), St Catherine’s Aged Care Services (NSW), Seton Villa Disabilities (NSW), and the Department of Family & Community Services Audit and Risk Committee (NSW). She is a Member of The Environmental Protection Authority (WA), Director of Insurance & Care – icare - (NSW), the Kokoda Track Foundation (National), Harvard Club of Australia and sits on the Audit & Risk Committees for Urban Growth Development Corporation (NSW) and Australian Technology Park (NSW). Elizabeth is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Jane Gillon

Mrs Jane Gillon (Vice Chair)

Jane Gillon (Fisher '70) has had a career in marketing, and later lent her expertise to the industry as a lecturer, as well as teaching in Senior Schools for a number of years. Jane has served on the committees of the Parents’ Society and Ladies Auxiliary, and was awarded Honorary Life Member of the Parents’ Society  in 1999. She has been a member of the OGA Committee since 1987, and was President between 1999-2007 and again from 2009-2010. She was made an Honorary Life Member of the OGA in 2006. Jane has also served on the Board of Management (Foundation). Jane's daughter, Ashleigh, is a member of the Class of 1998.

Mr Roger Veary

Mr Roger Veary (Treasurer)

A retired senior executive, Roger brings extensive board and council membership experience to St Mary's. Roger is a Fellow of the Society of Certified Practising Accountants, a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors and has years of high level business experience both in Australia and South Africa.

Mrs Amy Dawson (Old Girls' Representative)

Amy Dawson (Fraser '94) is the current President of the Old Girls' Association. She works as a residential property manager and trust account manager at Ian Fraser & Co. Amy commenced at St Mary’s in Year 2. In her final year she was the Hackett Sport Captain and received awards for both Interschool Diving and the Year 12 Subject Prize for Accounting.

Tanya Hazelden

Eric Martino (Parents' Society Representative)

Eric is the current President of the Parents’ Society, having served as Vice President for three years prior. During his tenure as Vice President, Eric was honoured to be invited to be a member of the Board of Management of the Foundation. Eric has practised as a lawyer for over 20 years and is the managing director of Paterson and Dowding, one of the leading Family Law firms in Perth, established in 1967. Eric is an Accredited Family Law Specialist, a Nationally Accredited Mediator, an Independent Children’s Lawyer and a Collaborative Lawyer. Eric currently has two daughters at the School and one daughter who is a member of the Class of 2016.

Mr Ian Curlewis

Mr Ian Curlewis

Ian is a lawyer who has been practising in workplace relations for over thirty years. He particularly advises and represents schools, TAFEs and universities in all aspects of their operations including the development of policies, affirmative action issues and workplace safety. Ian's daughter, Sarah, is a member of the Class of 2007.

Ian Hardy

Mr Ian Hardy

Ian, the Warden of St George’s College, UWA and an Oxford University history graduate, worked for over 15 years as an investment banker in London, Hong Kong and Colombo, latterly in chief executive roles. He subsequently taught at Christ Church Grammar School for 10 years. He also has Perth business experience derived from work undertaken with his West Australian wife.



Professor Desiree Silva

Professor Desiree Silva

Desiree is a paediatrician and has been appointed Professor of Paediatrics at the University of Western Australia and Joondalup Health Campus. She also works for the Rural Paediatric Service. Desiree is committed to research work in improving child mental health and aboriginal health. Her daughter, Danella, is a member of the Class of 2010.

Mr Liam Twigger

Liam has over 30 years experience in the fields of investment banking and corporate finance and is currently Managing Director of corporate advisory and investment banking firm PCF Capital Group. Liam’s career has included senior treasury positions with The Bell Group Limited and Bond International Gold Limited in the 1980’s and in 1989 he established the gold risk management business at Fincorp Limited. in 1995, Liam established Macquarie Bank’s Bullion and Commodities division in Perth and was promoted to Head of Macquarie Bank Limited in Western Australia. In 1997 Liam was recruited to head up Bankers Trust’s investment banking activities in Western Australia and following the sale of Bankers Trust Australia Limited in 1999, Liam became a founding principal of PCF Capital Group.  Liam is Chairman of web based mine broking business,, Chairman of Football West Limited, the governing body for soccer in WA and is a Non Executive Director of Gold Corporation Limited (The Perth Mint).

Amanda Williams

Ms Amanda Williams

Amanda Williams ('94) has spent the last sixteen years specialising in Assurance services as a partner of PriceWaterhouseCoopers and works across a number of different organisations, including not-for-profit entities, family businesses and large, multinational listed organisations. Her diverse client portfolio has seen her visiting abbatoirs, minesites, aged care homes and more recently, livestock ships.


St Mary's and the Church

Originally founded as a parish school, St Mary’s has maintained its close association with the Church. The school operates under the auspices of the Anglican Church. The Perth Diocesan Council appoints some Board Members in consultation with the school and so has a continuing role in the policy of the school. The Archbishop also appoints two members of the Board. The Archbishop is the Visitor to the school.

Each year the Board of Governors reports to Synod so that the whole ‘Parliament’ of the Church is aware of what the school is doing in educating its students.